Yvonne Battiau-Queney awarded chevalier of the Legion of Honour as EUCC France president

It is a pleasure for EUCC community to announce that EUCC French branch president has been recognized chevalier of the Legion of Honour (Ordre national de la Légion d’honneur), the highest French order for military and civil merits, as “president of a national environmental protection association”.


Yvonne joint EUCC France since its foundation in 1994 by the eminent geographer Roland Paskoff. She became president in 2009. Since then she has been very active not only in France but also in the European context, hand-to-hand with the EUCC international secretariat and other national branches and offices. In this sense, she is at the forefront of the organization committee of the EUCC bi-annual conference Littoral in Biarritz later this year. Also in the Basque region, another milestone has been possible thanks to her dedication: the foundation of EUCC Atlantic Centre. Under her presidency, EUCC-France has celebrated its 20 years of existence in the Coastal Dunes Conference in Merlimont, together with the 25th anniversary of the mother organization Coastal & Marine Union (EUCC). She strongly believes in the cornerstone activity of EUCC-France, the field workshops, where scientists, managers and policy makers have the opportunity to see and discuss together specific coastal issues, thus fostering integrated coastal zone management. For the first time ever, one of these workshops was held in the overseas French territory Martinique, in March 2015.

Next field workshop in Dunkerque, May 19-20, will be occasion to celebrate this good new!

Graduated in Geography (1965), Doctor of Arts (1978) and Fulbright Fellow (1986), Yvonne Battiau-Queney was professor of geomorphology at the University of Lille. Coastal geomorphology specialist, she has authored over 100 scientific publications. Currently attached to the CNRS – UMR 8187 LOG from the University of Lille, she is a member of a working group of the national strategy for coastline management (Ministry of Ecology, Sustainable Development and Energy) and of several scientific boards of national nature reserves.