The Economics of The Oceans Conference

Live-streamed over the internet from the House of Sweden in Washington, D.C. on December 3rd and 4th, 2013. Click here to add this event to your Google, Outlook, or other calendar.

Day 1 runs 9:00 am – 5:30 pm EST / 6:00 am – 2:30 pm PST / 2:00 pm GMT – 9:30 pm GMT
Day 2 runs 9:00 am – 3:00 pm EST / 6:00 am – 12 pm PST / 2:00 pm GMT – 7:00 pm GMT

Day 1 Schedule – Tuesday, December 3: Valuing Marine Ecosystem Services

Welcome remarks by Ambassador of Sweden to the United States Björn Lyrvall and Sweden’s Ambassador for Oceans, Seas and Fresh Water, Lisa Emilia Svensson
Message from Maria Damanaki, EU Commissioner for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries.

Day 2 Schedule – Wednesday, December 4: Towards a Regional Blue-Green Economy

Making marine ecosystems more productive, valuable, and sustainable starts at the local level. Day two will explore the challenges, lessons, and opportunities associated with trying to improve ecosystem health and ecosystem service values. We focus on new technologies, the greening of marine and coastal industries, and specific lessons from the Chesapeake Bay and Baltic Sea.

More information

Advertisements